Australia Day Awards 2017 in West Wimmera

Jan 27, 2017 News

West Wimmera Shire Council presented three Australia Day 2017 Awards today, during Australia Day celebrations around the Shire.

"I am delighted to announce that Tanya Turner is our Citizen of the Year for 2017" said Mayor Bruce Meyer. "Tanya is an enthusiastic and committed contributor to the small community of Apsley, and volunteers her time and expertise for the benefit of the wider community."

In addition to her role of Principal at the Apsley Primary School, Tanya is involved with the Apsley Action Group, Apsley Alive, Apsley Alligators Play Group, Edenhope-Apsley Netball, Apsley Angling Club and the Bringalbert Foreshore Committee.

"Our second Australia Day Award is for the Community Event of the Year, which has been won by the Apsley Racing Club Cup 2016" said Mayor Meyer.

The annual Apsley Cup was established in 1855, and is run by an enthusiastic and dedicated committee from the Apsley district.

"The Apsley Cup is an important social event for the district, and generates direct benefits for the local economy" said Mayor Meyer. "It has developed successful partnerships with local industry, and recently added the Tour De Frances to the weekend's activities".

"Our third Australia Day Award has been presented to Jonathon Kyle, our Young Citizen of the Year for 2017" said Mayor Meyer.

Jonathan is a fine young man who lives in Kaniva, and eagerly volunteers his time and enthusiasm to a wide range of community projects.

"Jonathan consistently steps forward to assist groups ranging from the Kaniva Scouts and Landcare, to the Kaniva Fauna Park and local sporting groups" said Mayor Meyer. "He displays compassion, motivation and a willingness to help others in everything he does".

Jonathan received his award at the Kaniva Australia Day event, and the other two awards were presented at the Apsley Australia Day observance ceremony.

Further details contact Mayor Bruce Meyer | 0437 261 280

© West Wimmera Shire Council 2018. All rights reserved.