Winner of Award for Senior Citizen of the Year 2017

Oct 19, 2017 News

West Wimmera Shire Council today revealed the winner of the Award for Senior Citizen of the Year 2017, at the Seniors Concert in Edenhope.

"I am delighted to announce that Mrs Frances Ryan is our Senior Citizen of the Year for 2017" said Mayor Bruce Meyer.

"Mrs Ryan lives in Edenhope and undertakes some type of volunteering in the local community almost every day of the week" said Mayor Meyer. "Recipients of her long standing and selfless contribution include the Edenhope/Apsley Football Club, the Edenhope Information Centre, local churches, friends and neighbours.

The other Award nominees were Maxwell Carter from Goroke, Harvey Champness from Kaniva, and Edenhope residents Shirley Campbell-Brown, Jim Farran, Katrina Parker and Val Winfield. All nominees will receive a Certificate from the Shire.

The Award recognises Shire residents aged 60 years or more who have made a difference to community wellbeing, have a positive attitude towards aging, continue to be active in our community, and encourage others to do the same.

Councillor Jodie Pretlove made the Award announcement on behalf of the Mayor.

"We would like to acknowledge the contribution of all Award nominees, Council had a difficult decision to make from this outstanding line up of senior Shire residents" said Councillor Meyer.

Mrs Ryan is currently away on holiday, and will be presented with her Award upon her return.

© West Wimmera Shire Council 2018. All rights reserved.