Youth Advisory Council for West Wimmera Shire Council

May 07, 2018 News

West Wimmera Shire's first Youth Advisory Council has been appointed with eight students from Edenhope, Goroke and Kaniva Colleges to represent the youth of the Shire.

The West Wimmera Youth Advisory Council's role is to be the voice of Shire's youth working with West Wimmera Shire Council to identify and address the ideas and challenges of youth in our region.

Recently appointed Youth Officer for West Wimmera Shire Council, Leah Davies, coordinated the nomination process and was pleased with the interest in this new initiative and the number of nominations received.

The Youth Advisory Committee representatives are; for Goroke: Sophie Walter, Hayley Rogers, and Jordyn Lyall; Edenhope: Braithyn Dodd, Kate Ellis, and Georgia Baxter and Kaniva: Patrick Munn and Remi King. These members are a strong cross representation of the regions youth with representatives ranging from year 7 to 11.

"The West Wimmera Youth Advisory Committee will provide Council with specialist advice on current and emerging issues for young people. This is a great opportunity for us to support the development of the regions young leaders."

"I would like to congratulate the successful nominees on their appointment, it will be an honour to work with such passionate young people. Council is excited to see the initiatives and directions they develop as young leaders in the Shire" said West Wimmera Shire Mayor, Jodie Pretlove.

"It won't all be hard work though. We would also like the committee to look at what events and festivals they would like to see in West Wimmera, and then assist where possible to make them happen."

"There's so much potential to get some really positive things happening and I can't wait to see what can be achieved" commented Youth Officer, Leah Davies.

There is still a vacant position for a representative from Kaniva, should there be an interested candidates please contact Council.

For more information on the West Wimmera Shire Youth Advisory Council contact Leah Davies on 5392 7700 or

© West Wimmera Shire Council 2019. All rights reserved.