Nominations Open for Australia Day 2019 Awards

Oct 17, 2018 News

West Wimmera Shire Council has opened nominations for the Australia Day 2019 Awards, which recognise outstanding community service for and within the Municipality.

"We encourage all Shire residents to think about who they would like to nominate for these important awards" said Mayor Jodie Pretlove.

Four awards will be presented by the Shire in the categories of Citizen of the Year, Community Event of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year (for nominees aged 30 and under), and Community Group of the Year.

Nominations close on Friday 23 November 2018, and Councillors will choose the winners during the closed session of the December 2018 Council Meeting.

The Awards will be presented on Saturday 26 January 2019, as part of the Shire's Australia Day celebrations.

"I believe it's very important to publicly recognise significant contributions by individuals and groups with our Shire, and the Australia Day Awards are an ideal way to do this" said Mayor Pretlove.

Nomination forms can be obtained from the Shire's website, and at the front counter of the Edenhope and Kaniva Offices.

© West Wimmera Shire Council 2019. All rights reserved.