Winner of Senior Citizen of the Year 2018 Award

West Wimmera Shire Council today revealed the winner of the Senior Citizen of

the Year 2018 Award, at the Seniors Concert in Kaniva.

"I am delighted to announce that Mrs Elaine Bull is our Senior Citizen of the Year

for 2018" said Mayor Jodie Pretlove.

"Mrs Bull has lived at Patyah, near Edenhope, for the past 62 years and has

contributed to the community in many ways over the years" said Mayor Pretlove.

"Recipients of her long standing and selfless contribution include the Edenhope

Country Fire Authority, Edenhope Tourism, the Edenhope Pastoral & Agricultural

Society, the Edenhope & District Memorial Hospital, the local Anglican Church, the

Edenhope Opportunity Shop, and Edenhope Meals on Wheels".

The Award recognises Shire residents aged 60 years or more who have made a

difference to community wellbeing, have a positive attitude towards aging,

continue to be active in our community, and encourage others to do the same.

The other Award nominee was Mr Peter Clarke of Edenhope, who also received a

Certificate from the Shire.

"We would like to acknowledge the significant community contribution of both

nominees" said Mayor Pretlove.

Earlier this week Mrs Elaine Bull and Mr Don Forster, the 2014 recipient of Council's

Senior Citizen of the Year Award, attended a ceremony at Government House in

Melbourne, which was hosted by the Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of

Victoria. At this event Elaine and Don each received a Council on The Ageing

(COTA) Senior Achiever Award.

© West Wimmera Shire Council 2019. All rights reserved.