Mayor Meyer Re-Elected for West Wimmera

Published on 04 November 2021

Councillor Bruce Meyer OAM has been elected as Mayor of West Wimmera Shire at this week’s Annual Statutory Meeting.
“I am extremely honoured and privileged to be re-elected as Mayor of West Wimmera Shire Council,” said Mayor Bruce Meyer.
“I would like to thank my fellow Councillors for the opportunity to again serve our community as Mayor and for again placing their trust in me to lead Council over the next year”.
Mayor Meyer has now served as a Councillor for twenty-six years, including eight previous terms as Mayor.
He was the first Mayor of the inaugural West Wimmera Shire Council in 1997 following Council amalgamations and has served as a West Wimmera Councillor continuously since then. In the lead up to amalgamation, he was a Councillor of the former Kaniva Shire Council for approximately 18 months.
In acknowledgement of his significant service to Local Government, Mayor Meyer has received Victorian Councillor Service Awards and the Mayor Emeritus Award from the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV).
In 2020 for his service to local government and the West Wimmera Community, Mayor Meyer was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia.
“I’m looking forward to continuing to support our community through the pandemic and working hard for the long term benefit of all Shire Residents,” said Mayor Meyer.
Cr Jodie Pretlove has been re-elected as Deputy Mayor. 
Tagged as: